I Think It’s Time for Some TTC

Hard to believe that after 2 years 5 months and 10 days, we are finally taking the plunge into growing our family! It feels like a long while. However, many couples wait far longer than 2 years to start a family. Some even waiting longer, like 7 years or something. Good for them! But I’m gettin’ too old for that kind of wait. And the hubs is… well, I’d like to see him be able to run with the kiddos… without a walker.

I totally feel like we don’t have that kind of time, so now is great for me! We’ve had life happen to and with us in the last 2 years that has made this wait worth it, and sometimes welcomed! Situations with my husband’s jobs, health insurance (and sometimes the lack of) our honeymoon being postponed, my sister-in-law’s Jamaican destination wedding, etc. It’s been up and down, and I would hate to have needed to drag a baby through some of it. I’m not whining, just being thankful we are where we are now.

And, as most women do, I’ve been prepping for this baby idea for a short time now. Adding a board on my Pinterest account just for baby stuff including tips and products for being a new mommy, and cute nursery decor ideas and fun ways to tell our family. On the side I’ve been day-counting and researching everything I can that looks legit on TTC. Even cleaning my house more and taking vitamins.

It’s funny because, of course, as SOON as you get married, people ask the obvious questions about when you’ll get pregnant and start a family. In fact, my best friend of 20+ years actually thought I didn’t want kids by the way I answered her! I specifically told her that I wanted to enjoy the time I had left in my life without kids BECAUSE once you have a child, you are MOM for the rest of your LIFE! If you interpret that the same way she did, you might be thinking I was pushing off getting pregnant because I didn’t want it. But that’s not the case at all. I wanted to opportunity to stay out late a few more nights, eat what I want a little bit more, drink how I please (or in any amount), travel to anywhere at any time and do it all before I become a mom. Not that you can’t do that once you’re a mother, BUT I can’t choose to drink a little more than my fair share of cocktails at 28 weeks pregnant. I can’t whisk away to Thailand with a 2 week old, and I can’t tell a babysitter we’ll be home by 10pm and not show up until 10am! (maybe I could, but I don’t think anyone in the Good Mommy Group would let me become a member if I behaved like that.)

Meanwhile, I have to say, in the short time we have been at it, I’ve noticed some things. And If you are thinking about trying or if you are TTC already, get geared up! It’s a roller coaster for shizzle! One day you’re sane and rational, hopeful and positive. The next, you’re analyzing every stick you pee on, every headache, or every chart! You might be able to even laugh at yourself through the process, but in times of stress, it can feel like you are climbing walls in anticipation and/or anxiety. If you want my advice, this is about the get VERY REAL.You have got to remember 3 things:

  1. Keep your head up and your spirits high. No matter what may come, take it in stride. 
  2. Don’t stress! That can turn 1 month’s chances into years of trying! DON’T stress!
  3. Be careful what you read. A- everyone is different. B- Some sources are better than others. Don’t get worked up over anything and everything. Use your head. :)

I have to admit, I’m kinda pumped that I’m so busy with work this week! (Busy enough to stop and write a blog post, right?) This way, I’m forced to back away from the books, the sometimes conflicting internet articles, the TTC online forums, and the boredom that leads to the incessant analyzing of all things TTC. But that doesn’t mean it’s not running through my mind. Haha Sometimes you just can’t stop it. I have already been thinking about adding more stuff to my baby board on Pintrest and maybe even adding a category to this blog about TTC. This way, any mom’s-to-be who happen upon this thing can maybe get something to do while doing their Two Week Wait. Besides, the” transition” from wife to mom doesn’t mean you’re not a wife anymore. I’ve always been a firm believer in that.

So, I am super excited about where this journey will take us! I’m already having good feelings about this. And Don’t worry, this will not turn into a mommy blog. Being a wife is where this blog will stay. Again, not knocking mommy blogs, but I did define this blog as a source for making the Wife Life feel or be effortless.

I’ll admit, I haven’t been doing a very good job of that… 2 posts per year doesn’t really count as real blog, right? I’m working on it! Consider it a New Year’s Resolution!

Leave a Reply

