The Bedroom: Sanctuary Part I

Simplify your clutterI’ve told my husband a few times over that I have a plan for our bedroom as we grow our family. And that plan does not include pictures of our children in our bedroom. He sees my point. But do you?
Let me explain. Ever other single wall in my home will be free real estate for school pictures, artwork, family fun pics, or family portraits. However, my bedroom needs to be a sanctuary. A haven where I can find my personal inner utopia. And if I am stressed about work, or my husband, or my kids, or the laundry…… I need a place where I can go to escape it all. When I am spending Q.T. with the hubs, I don’t need to be thinking about much more than… well, the Q.T. with the hubs!

I dream of serene colors that lift my spirits but not my heart rate. No yellows, no reds, no greens. I need to feel like I’m in a mental meditation room. A place to get away from the every day stresses. A good stretch for the mind and spirit. And a reset button to recharge me for later or tomorrow.

But, my room doesn’t look like this. I have beige walls with yellow undertones in the paint. I have laundry everywhere EXCEPT in the baskets! (Blame my husband, as I think he just can’t see the empty hamper beyond the piles of clothes he leaves around it!) I have tried to make my closet efficient, but so far, I’m just running out of room. It’s a mess! Thank God I don’t have the kiddos yet! lol
So I saw this Checklist from Real Simple Magazine the other day and thought I should give this a try. It’s tips on Organizing The Bedroom. Thought I’d apply this to my own life. I’m committing to trying this out! So, I guess I’m on my way to my Bedroom Sanctuary, Part I!  Step one is to do some laundry…

And I’ll share my success with you if you’d like. Just comment below. And I want to hear about you. If you beat me to it and have any luck, let’s hear about it! Just click the title above or the picture to the left to get the tips for building your own Bedroom Sanctuary!

Leave a comment